Mnr & Mej SHS

Mr. and Miss SHS is one of SHS’s yearly glamorous events that showcases the beauty, talent and creativity that the SHS learners have to offer.

At the beginning of the pageant 24 matric learners (12 girls and 12 boys) are selected by the school giving them the opportunity to participate in the event. Leading to the event, the 24 finalists are presented with three dressing themes which they have to present on the final night.

Themes such as ‘me in the future, 1960’s disco, clothes you will never see me in etc.’ and lastly the formal wear, where each finalist gets the chance to show their most elegant side.Finalist have photo shoot sessions with an inspired theme and an on camera questioning session which is used on the night of the event.

The SHS pageant for 2017 has raised the bar higher than expected. The finalist had a more challenging task at hand where they had to go and make an outfit made out of recycled material for the segment ‘trashion’.

Primary school learners were selected by their schools to open the ‘trashion’ segment in which they too were competing for the title of Mr. and Miss SHS Future. Jimmy Mine and Arista Riekert walked away with the title after winning over the hearts of the audience.

It has become a tradition that the finalists have to prepare an opening dance to get the show on the run, followed by an introductory walk. The finalist danced to the beat of Megan Trainor’s ‘me too’ and ‘Uptown Funk’ by Bruno Mars.

It is always difficult to pick one winner, as all the finalists do not fail to deliver their utmost best. Therefore we pick the best judges to help crown the winners in the different categories.Mr. and Miss Personality Mr. and Miss Photogenic Mr. and Miss Theme personality Viewer’s choice Mr. and Miss SHS along with the first and second placesMr. and Miss SHS is not just like any school pageant, every year we select a famous South African artist that can either host the show or entertain the audience with their music.

We have selected artists from Karlien van Jaarsveld, Brendan Peyper and this year the comedian Schalk Bezuidenhout hosted the show.

The winners of 2017 are Unaisah Ebrahim and FC van Wyk.Runner upsFirst Prince: André van Vuuren First Princess: Amu Magubane Second Prince: Siebert Du Plessis Second Princess: Petra Human and Lachelle Manser